One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish

Standard

Hide and Seek Red HD Inverse

I was approached with the opportunity to license my work through Wild Apple Publishing.  They picked out a couple of paintings they liked the best and ask me to make companion paintings to go with them (kind of like a matched set).  I’ve been working on the companion painting to Hide and Seek Orange.  I’ve included some in process pictures so you can see my layering process.  Here’s Hide and Seek Red, mixed media, 48″ x 48″.

I started by washing in an ocean background, then I painted in some distance kelp.  Next I collaged in hand-painted paper kelp:

H&S 1  h&S in progress

I initially used yellow fish but I didn’t think there was enough contrast, so I switched to red instead, and added some last kelp strands:

yellow fish2

Here are the two Hide and Seek paintings side by side:

Pair of Hide and Seek paintings

One response »

Leave a comment