How to say “peace” in many languages

Standard
How to say “peace” in many languages

Patz, salaamata, huag totoka, rauha and taika all translate to “peace” in different languages (in order here…Spain, Ethiopia, Fiji, Russia, and Lithuania).  In Sanskrit, “shanti” means peace and is often chanted three times in a row during meditation.  The newest painting in my yoga-series is titled “Shanti”.  I started the painting by gluing down broad areas of paper that I had hand-printed on translucent deli paper.  The layout is almost symmetric with light on one side and dark on the other.

Shanti in Progress

Next, I added stenciled and hand-painted designs on both sides to connect the opposing sides with some commonality.  Isn’t obtaining peace with others about recognizing our similarities while respecting our differences.  I finished the piece with three stacked circles to represent the “chanting” of shanti three times.

Shanti Web

“Shanti”, Mixed Media on cradled panel, 20″ x 16″, $600

 

 

 

About Kathy Ferguson

Please follow my journey of embracing an artistic life. I will post news about my latest paintings and process, exhibitions, and more. I hope to inspire you to follow your own creative journey. For more information about my art and happenings visit www.kathyfergusonart.com

Leave a Reply

