Watch me make a painting – Steps 1 & 2

Standard

I was asked to create a new set of paintings based off a previous painting of mine that had already sold.  They asked for two brightly color, graphic paintings of stylized vines that could hang together.  I thought it would be fun to show you how I create the first of these two new paintings, step by step.

Step 1:  I started with an outline sketch to get an idea of the placement for the vines.

vines cutout2

 

Step 2:  Then, I covered a 24″ x 24″ cradled birch panel with gesso, added a pale yellow base color and some loose drippy light blue paint for energy.  Next, I cut out some intricate designs in paper, painted one of them dark blue, and glued them to the painting surface  to add some interesting texture.  I will post the remaining steps through out this week.  Thanks for following along.

Vines 2 step1

One response »

Leave a Reply

