Painting in the nude

Standard
Painting in the nude

I knew that would get your attention!  And no, I don’t paint in the nude, but this week I am featuring paintings I did of nude models in 2012.   For these two paintings, I couldn’t find a friend willing to pose for me, so I had to use myself as the model (painting from a photograph).  I set up the camera on a tripod, pushed the 10-second delay button and leapt onto the bed striving to strike a tasteful pose before the shutter button went off.  It took me about 30 tries and it was a serious aerobic workout.  I chose to mask my face in a pillow to create a more “any woman” feel and to draw the focus on the body.  Now when I look at these paintings, I’m still happy with them.  However, I do wonder why I didn’t think to make my ass smaller!

These two paintings will hang in The Gallery at the Watershed‘s upcoming “Elegant Nude” exhibition in Eugene Oregon from September 23 through November 1, 2014.  Below are these two paintings.

 

Morning Sun CAFE

“Morning Sun”, 11″ x 14″, oil on canvas, $350

Last Rays of the Day CAFE

“Last Rays of the Day”, 11″ x 14″, oil on canvas, $350

2 responses »

    • I hope you have a chance to go by and see it. Just so you know, the exhibition ends on November 2. I am happy to note that so far I have sold one (Morning Sun) of the two paintings of mine in the show but both are still up for viewing.

Leave a Reply

