Hanging my own art in my home

Standard

For the most part, I don’t hang my own paintings in my home.  It’s not that I don’t like them, but I see enough of my work during the day working in my studio and I really enjoy looking at other artists’ work when I’m home.  However, I recently hung an encaustic painting of mine in our New York apartment.  We have this large fuse box panel smack in the middle of the dining room.   I couldn’t find a painting that fit those dimensions to cover it so I create one of my own,  Composed of twenty-five 6″ x 6″ individual encaustic tiles.  Encaustic paint is a blend of beeswax, damar crystals and oil painted in its melted state.  The fun part about encaustic is its versatility.  You can carve back into it, embed paper into it, transfer images onto it and more.  I used these techniques in this painting.

“Circle in Science and Nature”, encaustic paint, paper, beads, fabric, transfers, and watercolor

Basic RGB

Closeups of a few of the tiles:

Circle tile 1

 

project4_tile 9_Ferguson

 

 

 

project4_tile 8_Ferguson

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

