Who wins rock, paper, scissors in your home?

Standard

In my studio, paper wins every time.  That’s because as a mixed media artist, paper is one of my favorite and most versatile mediums I use.  I am starting to work on the fourth painting in my yoga series but first, I had to print some new papers to use in this painting.   I have enjoyed using the gel plate (by Gelli Arts) I got for Christmas to print unique and multi-layered prints.  A Gel Printing Plate looks and feels like a sheet of gelatin, but is durable, reusable and stores at room temperature. It’s easy to clean and always ready for printing. Monoprinting on a gel plate is simple and fun. The gratification is immediate, and the prints are too cool.  These monoprints are only a handful of the papers I printed today using stencils, faux painting tools and more.

2014-07-21 15.32.39

 

You can see where I used a brayer to roll on the acrylic paint, then scraped in a design and finally pressed the paper onto the plate.  Voila!  It’s as easy and fun as that.  If I didn’t like the print, I just added another layer or two on top and ended up with some great designs.  Next post, I will show you how I used these papers in my yoga painting #4.


Gellie print standing inkingGelli print standing press

Leave a Reply

