Letting my imagination go wild

Standard

This week’s class assignment was to work without a reference.  Yay!  None of that pesky realism to get in the way of creating art =)!  I started with the idea of a basic T composition and a color palette of analogous blue/green/yellow and added a loose drippy under-painting with acrylics.  Then I pulled out my new Gel Printing Plate I got for Christmas and made some prints on dry deli paper.  It was fun to stamp, spray and splatter, printing several layers over each other.  I adhered the paper to the panel to block in areas of color and texture. I continued to push and pull with paint to create this version.  Though intended as a pure abstraction, does anyone else see a person doing yoga?  Our minds try to force realism on us even when we aren’t looking for it.

Exercise 5_Ferguson

Akasha“, mixed media on panel, 20″ x 16”

Leave a Reply

