Third time’s the charm

Standard
Third time’s the charm

Image

In my abstract painting class, the assignment was to paint an abstracted view of the inside of my home.  I chose the round glass lamps over my dining room as my subject.  Every week, I was to push myself further, taking greater risks and abstracting the scene even more.  Below is a photograph of my subject and the three progressive paintings I created using this photo as a starting point.  I think my work got better and more layered and complex as the weeks went on.  This is the value of working on a series, growing and improving the more familiar I became with the scene.  I even incorporated the dining room screen into the last version.

Image

Bubble Lamps, acrylic on canvas, 12″ x 16″

Image

Creek Bed #1, acrylic on canvas, 16″ x 12″

Image

Creek Bed #2, acrylic on panel, 12″ x 16″

Leave a Reply

