If at first you don’t succeed, …

Standard
If at first you don’t succeed, …

Not every painting goes smoothly.  In fact, most of them have a bit of a struggle involved in the process.  The painting below went through a few iterations to get to its finally version.  I started with a mosaic type shape but it didn’t work as well as I had hoped.

Image

Next, I went a little crazy overpainting it adding every idea that popped into my head!  Can you say overkill?

Image

Finally, I focused myself and came up with an idea.  I’ve been dealing with these bats that live over every doorway to our home.  They freak me out so much that I’ll only exit out of the garage these days.  So I thought of the two creatures that scare me the most…bats and spiders.  I made my painting  a fantasy landscape where these imaginary bat-spiders live, flying into their cave, spinning their webs to sleep in, before terrorizing the suburbanites.

Image

About Kathy Ferguson

Please follow my journey of embracing an artistic life. I will post news about my latest paintings and process, exhibitions, and more. I hope to inspire you to follow your own creative journey. For more information about my art and happenings visit www.kathyfergusonart.com

Leave a Reply

